Nicholas Coleridge CBE inducted into Hall of Fame at The PPA Awards 2017

The Professional Publishers Association (PPA) has honoured Nicholas Coleridge CBE, outgoing Managing Director of Condé Nast Britain and President of Condé Nast International, with a place in the PPA Hall of Fame.

Coleridge accepted the prestigious accolade from Haymarket Media Group Founder and Owner Lord Heseltine at The PPA Awards 2017. The event, which celebrates the world-class talent in the UK’s professional publishing sector, took place at Grosvenor House in London’s Mayfair before an audience of more than 800 attendees from across consumer magazines and Business Media.

As well as the Hall of Fame presentation, a total of 26 awards were handed out on the night by host Katherine Ryan, including Editor of the Year, Front Cover of the Year, and Magazine of the Year, with the winners joining a roll of honour stretching back to 1981.

Coleridge was awarded his place in the Hall of Fame in recognition of a career in magazine publishing that has spanned more than five decades. In January, he announced he would be stepping down from his roles as Managing Director of Condé Nast Britain and President of Condé Nast International on August 1 2017, at which point he will assume the role of Chairman of Condé Nast Britain until at least the end of 2019.

He is only the fifth individual to be inducted into the PPA Hall of Fame, joining previous inductees Sylvia Auton, Lord Heseltine himself, Stephen Quinn, and the late Kevin Hand.

Barry McIlheney, CEO of the PPA, said: “Nicholas is one of the truly great ambassadors of magazine publishing in the UK. He has not only been an inspirational leader at Condé Nast for 25 years now, but he has also been a superb advocate for the industry at large, having been a PPA Board member throughout his quarter-century at Condé, and making a significant contribution in his time as our Chairman. I’m delighted that he now takes his rightful and thoroughly-deserved place in the PPA Hall of Fame.”

Condé Nast was also recognised in a further two awards categories, with GQ’s Stuart McGurk named Writer of the Year (Consumer Media) and WIRED’s Andrew Diprose named Designer of the Year (Consumer Media).

In other categories, Women’s Health from Hearst-Rodale retained its title as Consumer Magazine of the Year, while The Week from Dennis Publishing was crowned Consumer Media Brand of the Year.

In the Business Media categories, Ascential picked up a total of three awards, while Times Higher Education from TES Global was named Business Magazine of the Year, and The Lawyer from Centaur Media was named Business Media Brand of the Year.

The PPA Chairman’s Award went to Archant, publisher of The New European, and in the Front Cover of the Year category, where the winner is chosen by the public via an online vote, the gold award went to Shortlist, with silver to NFU Poultry, and bronze to People Management.

Barry McIlheney, PPA CEO, added: “It has been another incredibly competitive year for the PPA Awards. The sheer breadth of talent that shines out across the shortlists reflects how our industry is adapting and evolving to new challenges through creativity, innovation, and a professional commitment to creating content of the highest standard. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners and highly commended entries.”


Best Use of Social Media
Grazia X Facebook Live Edition, Bauer Media

Designer of the Year (Business Media)
Tom Carpenter, The Architectural Review, EMAP

Designer of the Year (Consumer Media)
Andrew Diprose, WIRED, The Condé Nast Publications

Writer of the Year (Business Media)
Kate Magee, Campaign, Haymarket Media Group

Writer of the Year (Consumer Media)
Stuart Mcgurk, GQ, The Condé Nast Publications

Columnist of the Year (Business Media)
Helen Edwards, Campaign, Haymarket Media Group

Columnist of the Year (Consumer Media)
Monty Don, BBC Gardeners’ World, Immediate Media

Great Leap Forward Award
Pete Wootton, Dennis Publishing

Team Leader of the Year
Sharon Douglas, Hearst Magazines UK

Publishing Innovator of the Year
British Journal Of Photography, 1854 Media

Digital Innovation of the Year (Business Media)
HSJ Solutions, Wilmington Group

Digital Innovation of the Year (Consumer Media)
Fabled By Marie Claire, Time Inc. UK

Event of the Year (Business Media)
Pulse Live, Cogora

Event of the Year (Consumer Media)
New Scientist Live, New Scientist

PPA Chairman's Award

Editor of the Year (Business Media)
Pippa Jacks, TTG, TTG Media

Editor of the Year (Consumer Media)
Marianne Jones, Stella Magazine, Telegraph Media Group

Customer Magazine of the Year
Sainsbury’s Magazine, Seven

Specialist Consumer Magazine of the Year 
BBC Countryfile Magazine, Immediate Media

Business Magazine of the Year
Times Higher Education, TES Global

Consumer Magazine of the Year
Women’s Health, Hearst-Rodale

Front Cover Of The Year
ShortList, Shortlist Media

International Consumer Media Brand of the Year
Top Gear, BBC Worldwide

Business Information Brand of the Year 
Groundsure, Ascential

Business Media Brand of the Year
The Lawyer, Centaur Media

Consumer Media Brand of the Year 
The Week, Dennis Publishing




Get in touch