Hearst Takes Top Honour At PPA New Talent Awards 2017

Hearst Magazines UK has been named Best Media Owner for New Talent at the PPA New Talent Awards 2017.

The company was handed the prestigious accolade at a totally new-look awards celebration hosted by Big Issue Editor Paul McNamee at Ministry of Sound on March 16.

The event was attended by an audience of more than 200 guests, made up of rising stars in consumer magazines and Business Media, as well as senior industry executives and industry supporters.

Hearst Magazines UK received 14 nominations in total and, in an impressive performance on the night, individuals from the company were named winners in two categories, and Highly Commended in a further four. The company also scored two outright wins through its joint venture with Rodale.

Other companies to win on the night were: ASOS, Bauer Media, Faversham House, Immediate Media Co, RCNi Publishing, and Shortlist Media.

The Most Promising Student Journalist of the Year (PostGraduate) award went to Megan Carnegie Brown of City University, while the judges highly commended Amalia Illgner from Goldsmiths in the same category.

Barry McIlheney, CEO of the PPA, said: “Huge congratulations to all the winners at this year’s PPA New Talent Awards, which give a clear and very welcome reminder of our ongoing need for new blood and fresh legs to keep our industry forever dynamic and thriving.

“Over the years, this event has evolved from its roots in recognising great journalism to recognising the importance of the increasingly broad mix of roles that define the publishers of today. It is very clear from this year’s winners that there is an emerging golden generation of talent driving that change, and this is so important and reassuring for the future of our entire industry.”


Most Promising Student Journalist of the Year (Postgraduate)
Megan Carnegie Brown, City University, London

New Talent Breakthrough Award
Josie Copson, Features Intern, Cosmopolitan

New Rising Sales Star
Gemma Swainsbury, Shortlist Media

New Designer of the Year
Chloe Sharp, Stylist

New Art Director of the Year
Chris Williams, ASOS Magazine

New Business Media Journalist of the Year
Layla Haidrani, Nursing Standard

New Consumer Media Journalist of the Year
Tom Ward, Men's Health

New Specialist Content Writer of the Year
Lee Stobbs, Match of the Day

New Digital Content Leader
Natasha Bird, ELLE

New Section Editor of the Year
Ted Lane, Men's Health

New Editor of the Year (Business Media)
Luke Nicholls, edie.net

New Editor of the Year (Consumer Media)
Rebecca Holman, The Debrief

Best Media Owner For New Talent
Hearst Magazines UK


Get in touch