2017 PPA IPN Awards winners announced

Laura Rutkowski

The annual PPA IPN Conference and Awards, now in its 14th year, took place on November 28 at the Hilton Bankside.

The afternoon, hosted by comedian Tom Ward, awarded accolades to independent publishers across 17 categories.

The conference welcomed delegates in the morning before the Hilton was transformed for lunch and the afternoon Awards event, with 400 people in attendance.

Anthem Publishing picked up five gongs, being crowned Independent Publishing Company of the Year, along with winning Writer of the Year, Launch/Relaunch of the Year, Independent Publisher Subscription Magazine of the Year and Consumer Magazine of the Year.

Gruppo Media and the National Trust took home two awards each.

LSC Publishing won Customer Magazine of the Year for Market Life, while Editor Mark Riddaway was Highly Commended by the judges, who recognised his leadership after the London Bridge and Borough Market terror attacks, where he and his team became the pillars of the community.

Jonathan Boyd of InvestmentEurope was the winner of the Editor of the Year Award – chosen for his leadership skills and his brand ambassador and moderating work.

PPA Director of Membership Nicola Rowe said: “This is a really special day in the PPA calendar where we celebrate the very best of independent publishing, right across the spectrum of magazine media.

“There is so much passion and creativity in this part of the industry and these awards are for those who are really pushing the boundaries and driving our sector forward. The standard of entries was incredibly high this year, which made the judges’ job exceptionally difficult.”

For a full list of the winners, head over to the PPA IPN website.

Get in touch