2017 PPA Digital Awards Winners Announced

Laura Rutkowski

The PPA named the winners of the seventh annual PPA Digital Awards 2017 on October 10 at the Troxy, East London.

Celebrating outstanding digital talent in consumer magazine and business media in the UK, the PPA Digital Awards has announced the winners for 2017.

The night, hosted by Love Island narrator and Scottish comedian Iain Stirling, awarded accolades to the best of the best across 18 categories in digital publishing.

The winners included: John Brown Media, Bauer Media, Telegraph Media Group, New Scientist, Dennis Publishing, Immediate Media, The Economist Group and Centaur Media.

Time Inc. UK scooped two gongs for Digital Commercial Team of the Year and Video of the Year. Hearst Magazines UK picked up three for Digital Content Team of the Year, Digital Content Leader of the Year and Digital Publisher of the Year (Consumer Media). Haymarket Media Group walked away with four trophies for Digital Commercial Partnership of the Year, Digital Leadership of the Year, Global Digital Brand of the Year and Digital Publisher of the Year (Business Media).

Barry McIlheney

“These awards celebrate and reward the truly outstanding work of individuals and companies in the field of digital publishing," said PPA CEO Barry McIlheney.

"Just as the digital landscape changes, so the publishing industry must change too, and it is genuinely exciting to witness the new ways in which digital platforms are allowing us to communicate with our growing audiences in new and exciting ways."

This year’s Awards brought international appeal, recognising the reach and scale of British brands, as it took place on the ‘middle’ night of the 41st FIPP World Congress in London.

Having outgrown its historic home at The Brewery, the Digital Awards was hosted at Grade II-listed Art Deco building the Troxy, which acted as the perfect backdrop for this year’s ‘creative cool’ dress code.

PPA Digital Awards 2017

PPA Chairman and CEO of Dennis Publishing, James Tye, commented: The PPA Digital Awards is a key event in any professional publisher's calendar. Not only does it showcase some of the boldest digital innovation in our industry, it also celebrates the talent that is the driving force behind our many successes."

For a full list of the winners, head over to the PPA Digital Awards website. The following were highly commended in their respective categories:

  • Digital Information Product of the Year Highly Commended: Financial Library, Incisive Media
  • Social Media Campaign of the Year Highly Commended: The Economist on Social Media, The Economist Group
  • Digital Marketer of the Year Highly Commended: Hamzah Malik, Veterinary Business Development
  • Digital Leadership of the Year Highly Commended: Nick Flood, Dennis Publishing

Congratulations to all of our winners and to those who were highly commended and shortlisted. Thank you to our sponsors and to the Troxy for making the night such a fabulous evening full of glitz and glamour – and, of course, to the 400 guests in attendance. We hope to see you all next year!

Get in touch